They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of +3 for the game. Check also full carier statistics. Data Provided By Do you have a sports website? You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work. Instead, the British Columbia native had to spend almost five years after he signed for NHL’s New York Islander to develop his physical and mental abilities to become the player he is now.. Or write about sports? More Toews Pages. I shook her hand away and started ripping around on my own.”. Brandon Saad is now with the Avalanche.

Complete record x of every goal scored or assisted by the player (Regular season since 1979-80 only). He’s probably the biggest motivation on my hockey career.”. In fact, he’s played 46 games with the Hartford Wolf Pack the last three seasons and was the backup goaltender when Toews and the Sound Tigers faced Hartford on November 4th. He improved each season, finishing with a career-best seven goals, 23 assists and 30 points in 40 games as a junior and helping the Bobcats reach the 2016 Frozen Four National Championship game. And it’s an inspiration that has certainly had a big impact on how the 22-year-old plays the game. These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. A bus accident, on December 11, 2009, that could have cost him everything. We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, & serve targeted ads. The next year, Toews was playing in the major-midget ranks with the Fraser Valley Bruins. WHA hat tricks courtesy Scott Surgent.

But, for Sound Tigers defenseman Devon Toews, not so much. Defense -- shoots L. Born Feb 21 1994 -- Abbotsford, BC. And while having that association to one of the top players in the NHL isn’t a bad thing, the Abbotsford, British Columbia native says his inspiration stems from another popular Blackhawk, defenseman Duncan Keith.

Born: February 21, 1994 in Abbotsford, British Columbia ca. It was there he encountered one of the scariest moments of his young career. Quinnipiac is also where Toews built relationships with current Bridgeport teammates Travis St. Denis and twin brothers Connor and Kellen Jones. Position: D. Height: 6' 1" Weight: 191lbs. Find out more. Because we respect your right to privacy, you can choose not to allow some types of cookies. All logos are the trademark & property of their owners and not Sports Reference LLC. I think just seeing how they went about things really helped my game.”. Avalanche depth chart: The makings of a Stanley Cup contender? But, for Sound Tigers defenseman Devon Toews, not so much. Subscribe to our Free Newsletter, This Month in Sports ReferenceFind out when we add a feature or make a change. It seemed like time stood still as it all happened.”. He is a durable defender who is excellent in transition and we are excited to add him to our blueline.” About Devon Toews’ contract: he’s a restricted free agent who had just a $700,000 cap hit last year, and he had arbitration rights. “He had to be flown there immediately and the air pressure from the helicopter nearly flooded his brain with blood.”. Located nearly 30 minutes north of Bridgeport in Hamden, Connecticut, the 9,000-student university provided the perfect opportunity for Toews to develop his game and draw much-needed attention from scouts. Buy his book. Join our linker program. Hockey-Reference utilizes Official NHL data for current NHL seasons. Devon Toews. Born: February 21, 1994 in Abbotsford, British Columbia ca, Draft: NY Islanders, 4th round (108th overall), 2014 NHL Entry. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. FOLLOW. “He’s a smaller defenseman, like me, so I feel like I can relate to a lot of the things he does,” Toews said. Game-by-game stat line for the player (Regular season since 1979-80 only). “Some bumps and bruises, but nothing severe. Toews is proof numbers don't tell the whole story of a player's accomplishments. Stats & Valuation Current Contract Devon Toews signed a 2 year / $1,400,000 contract with the New York Islanders, including $1,400,000 guaranteed, and an annual average salary of $700,000. Drafted 2014: 4th Rnd, 108th by NYI. When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Draft: NY Islanders, 4th round (108th overall), 2014 NHL Entry. “(Skapski) had a broken nose, broken orbital bone, and excessive bleeding in the back of his head, which required emergency surgery in Vancouver (to relieve a blood clot near his brain),” Toews remembered.

They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. 2020-21 season to begin no earlier than Dec. 4, Ottawa re-signs Daccord to three-year pact, Thunderbirds, Blues share similar philosophies, Blue Jackets sign Carlsson to two-year extension, Senators re-sign two-time AHL All-Star Balcers, Jankowski ready for opportunity in front of him, Budaj making the most of golden opportunity. Latest News: Feb. 11 5:42 PM PT 6:42 PM MT 7:42 PM CT 8:42 PM ET 1:42 GMT 9:42 6:42 PM MST 7:42 PM CST 8:42 PM EST 5:42 UAE (+1) 20:42 ET 23:42 BRT - Devon Toews had 19:53 of ice time in the Islanders' 5-3 win over the Flyers on Tuesday. #25 D. 6' 1", 191 lbs. It’s happened so many times and I’m usually quick to point out there’s no relation.”. “Devon is a smart, two-way, puck-moving defenseman who plays 20-plus minutes a night. © 2020 TheAHL.com | The American Hockey League. Feb. 10 5:45 PM PT 6:45 PM MT 7:45 PM CT 8:45 PM ET 1:45 GMT 9:45 6:45 PM MST 7:45 PM CST … “It was one of the most beneficial things for me,” Toews said. Aho agrees to two-year contract with Islanders. Devon Toews Overview. I’d say he has more of an accelerated start, Toews continued. “College gave me that perfect chance. Devon Toews.

... Devon Toews Bio. Here’s why it happened, The Avalanche re-signed Andre Burakovsky, clearing an early offseason hurdle. Regarding the marital status of Devon Toews, he is not married yet and he is still to get married. Source: @theknot. Browse our online application for MLB, NBA, NFL, NHL, EPL, or MLS player contracts, salaries, transactions, and more. “We were watching Slap Shot 2 on the bus, relaxing, and everyone was in their comfy clothes. Copyright © 2000-2020 Sports Reference LLC. “Travis and I are really close,” Toews said. Other data sources include the Hockey Summary Project and Hockey Databank. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. “We do a lot of things together, whether it’s sharing a row on the bus, going out to lunch, or rooming together on the road. 2018-19; 2019-20; Game Logs. Do you have a blog? Click on the different category headings to find out more and change our default settings. This information might be about you, your preferences or your device and is mostly used to make the site work as you expect it to. That’s when we hit some black ice and fishtailed into the other lane, and then back across into an embankment. As of now, he is engaged with his fiancee, Kerry Wetzelberger in September 2018. That’s exactly what brought him to Connecticut at just 18 years of age. 2018-19; 2019-20 Amateur Teams: Quinnipiac. Most historical data provided by Dan Diamond and Associates. #25 Devon Toews Stats New York Islanders. “Thankfully I made it out ok,” Toews said. “Especially when I’m new somewhere. “I watched him a lot growing up because Vancouver and Chicago were such big rivals, so he was always one of the guys I was fascinated by. “When I was 3 years old, my mom took me to the local rink and after about four or five minutes of holding her hand, I told her to let go. Position: D • Shoots: Left 6-1, 191lb (185cm, 86kg) Team: New York Islanders. By using our site, you consent to our use of cookies. These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. Colorado Avalanche. Watch our How-To Videos to Become a Stathead, Subscribe to Stathead and get access to more data than you can imagine. Question, Comment, Feedback, or Correction? Our reasoning for presenting offensive logos.

Pronunciation: \deh-VAWN TAYVZ\ More bio, uniform, draft… The information does not usually directly identify you, but it can give you a more personalised web experience. We present them here for purely educational purposes.